Interciencia Associattion

Founded in 1974 in Recife, Brazil, a federation of associations for the advancement of science, the INTERCIENCIA Association was chartered as a non-profit organization in Venezuela in 1975, under the auspices of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the Sociedade Brasileira para o Progresso da Ciência (SBPC) and the Asociación Venezolana para el Avance de la Ciencia (AsoVAC). In 2017 it was also registered in Chile. The current members of INTERCIENCIA Association are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, United States of America, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The Executive Secretariat of the INTERCIENCIA Association seats in Panama and works in coordination with the Executive Committee. The Executive Director of the Association is Mahabir Gupta, Professor of Pharmacognosia at the Universidad de Panamá. The office of the Excecutive Director is supported by the Asociación Panameña para el Avance de la Ciencia.

The INTERCIENCIA Association aims to unite the scientific communities of the Americas and promote the cooperative use of science, technology and innovation for the regional and national development. It publishes the trilingual monthly journal Interciencia in Spanish, English and Portuguese. It also organizes interdisciplinary symposia and short courses, and stimulates the creation of scientific non-governmental organizations for the advancement of science where they do not yet exist.

The member organizations of the INTERCIENCIA Association carry out scientific activities in their own countries and support or stimulate initiatives of their national agencies of science and technology. Several of the member organizations also publish scientific journals with important audiences in their countries. Every year, the member organizations of INTERCIENCIA meet in order to exchange experiences, learn about the status of science in the different countries they represent and establish common policies for science promotion in the region.

Since its creation, INTERCIENCIA has organized over 65 symposia, usually held on the occasion of the annual meetings of the member organizations. The topics of the symposia have concentrated in topics of biotechnology, biodiversity, energy, innovation, environment, international cooperation, science education and scientific policy. In recent years, INTERCIENCIA symposia have covered the fields of intellectual property, university-industry relations, incubator enterprises in pharmacology and biotechnology, ethnobotany and bioprospection for drug discovery, the future of the Amazon, indigenous knowledge, nutraceutic products, applications of biotechnology in agriculture and the pharmaceutical industry, and financing of science and technology in Latin American and Caribbean countries. The INTERCIENCIA Association has been invited as a civil society to discuss the importance of science and technology in specific meetings of the Organization of American States and in the preparatory meetings for the presidential summits of Mar del Plata (2005), Port of Spain (2009) and Panama (2010).


Past-President / Marisol Aguilera Meneses, Venezuela
President / Miguel Ángel Blesa, Argentina
1st Vice-President / Augusto Sánchez Valle, Bolivia
2nd Vice-President / Guillermo Arturo Vicente León, Costa Rica
Secretary / Eduardo Posada, Colombia
Treasurer / Juan A. Jaén, Panamá
Executive Director Ejecutivo Mahabir P. Gupta, Panamá


Asociación Argentina para el Progreso de las Ciencias
President: Ester Susana Hernández
Avenida Alvear 1711, 4º P Buenos Aires, Argentina
Tel: (54)(11) 6772-7968

Asociación Boliviana para el Avance de la Ciencia
President: Augusto Sánchez Valle
Gerente General Pacto S.R.L.
Calle F. Guachalla #342
Edif. Victor ofic. 701
Casilla Postal 6595
La Paz
Tel: (591 2) 2445459

Sociedade Brasileira para o Progresso da Ciência
Rua María Antonia 294, 4o Andar
01222-010 Sao Paulo, SP, Brasil
Tel: ++ 11 33552130, ++ 1192741233

l’Association francophone pour le savoir (Acfas)
President: Frederic Bouchard
Directora General: Hélène Drainville
425 Rue de la Gauchetiére Est, Montréal, Québec,
H2L 2M7 Canada.
Tel: (514) 8490045 Fax: (514) 8495558

Consejo de Sociedades Científicas de Chile
President: Jorge Babul
Departamento de Biología, Facultad de Ciencias,
Universidad de Chile, Casilla 653, Santiago de Chile
Tel: (56)(2) 2978-7450

Asociación Colombiana para el Avance de la Ciencia (ACAC)
President: Eduardo Posada Florez
Apartado Aéreo 92.581 – Bogotá, D.E., Colombia
Tel: (571) 221-6769 /221-4625 (Rosa Inés Asist. Ejecutiva)

Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y
Tecnológicas (CONICIT)
President: Giselle Tamayo Castillo
San José, Costa Rica. Apartado 10318-1000
Tel: (506) 22244172

Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT)
Director General: Enrique Cabrero Mendoza
Ave. Insurgentes Sur 1582, 7º Piso
Colonia Crédito Constructor, Deleg. Benito Juárez C.P. 03940 D.F. México
Tel: (52) (55) 53 22 7700 ext. 7000; Fax: (52) (55)327 7609/ 7614

Asociación Panameña para el Avance de la Ciencia (APANAC)
President: Martín E. Candanedo G.
Universidad Tecnológica de Panamá
Apartado: 0823-00499, Panamá, Rep. de Panamá
Tel. Oficina: (507) 560-3010; (507) 560-3003;
Fax. (507) 264-0789, Cel: (507) 6671-2245

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Chief International Officer: Rush Holt
1200 New York Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20005 USA
Tel: (202) 3266400 Fax: (202) 2894958

Asociación Venezolana para el Avance de la Ciencia (AsoVAC)
President: Marisol Aguilera Meneses
Av. Neverí, Edif. FUNDAVAC-AsoVAC, Colinas de Bello Monte,
Caracas, Venezuela
Tel.-Fax: (58) (0212) 7513768 – (0212) 7535802